The Law Society of NSW Specialist Accredititation 


Any information contained in a blog on this website is general in nature only. The content of any blog posted below reflects information which is known to us as at the date of the posting of the blog. Please be aware that the law regularly changes. Please do not rely on the general information contained in the below blogs, instead we recommend that you contact us to obtain legal advice tailored to your own specific situation.



Loose-fill Asbestos

Amanda Quin - Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Certain council areas in NSW are considered to be at a higher risk for the presence of loose-fill asbestos insulation.

Loose-fill asbestos is considered to be a significantly more serious health risk as compared to asbestos sheeting.

The NSW government has a buy back/demolition compensation scheme operating, BUT only if the person applying for the buy back/demolition compensation was the owner of the property as at 29 June 2015.

Existing home owners (ie who owned an at risk property as at 29 June 2015) have until 1 August 2016 to register for the free testing program (nb free testing is available if the house is in one of the council areas listed below).

Or if you are a concerned home owner and you live outside of the free testing area, you may choose to privately test your house at your cost, but such cost will be refunded if the test is positive.

If you are purchasing a house built before 1980 (particularly if the property is in any of the following local council areas), then you should consider requiring a clear asbestos test before completing your purchase:

  • Albury City Council
  • Bankstown City Council
  • Bega Valley Shire Council
  • Berrigan Shire Council
  • Bombala Council
  • Boorowa Council
  • Cooma Monaro Shire Council
  • Eurobodalla Shire Council
  • Goulburn Mulwaree Council
  • Greater Hume Shire Council
  • Hornsby Shire Council
  • Ku-ring-gai Shire Council
  • Lithgow City Council
  • Manly Council
  • Narrandera Shire Council
  • North Sydney Council
  • Orange City Council
  • Palerang Council
  • Parramatta City Council
  • Queanbeyan City Council
  • Snowy River Shire Council
  • The Hills Shire Council
  • Tumbarumba Council
  • Upper Lachlan Shire Council
  • Wagga Wagga City Council
  • Warringah Council
  • Yass Valley Shire Council
  • Young Shire Council